Staff

Administration and Office Staff

Ms. Seifullah- Principal

Mrs. Grate- Assistant Principal

Mr. Heyward- Social Worker

Mr. Vasquez- Community Associate

Ms. Henderson- Parent Coordinator

Ms. Akinsion- Secretary

Ms. Williams- School Aide

Scimatics Department

Mr. Prokop- 7th Grade

Mr. Johnson- 6th/7th/8th Grade

Mr. Moncada- 6th Grade

Ms. Scott- 6th/7th/8th Grade

Ms. White- 8th Grade

Humanities Department

Ms. Allia- 6th Grade

Mrs. Castellar- 7th Grade

Mr. Huttner- 7th Grade

Mrs. Johnson-Byfield- 8th Grade

Mr. Peterson- 8th Grade

Ms. Samuels- 6th Grade

Physical Education & Health

Mr. Conte 6th/7th/8th grade

Mr. Johnson 6th/7th/8th grade

Encore

Ms. Esteves – Italian 6th & 7th grade

Mr. Conte 6th/7th/8th grade

Mr. Johnson 6th/7th/8th grade

Ms. Rodriguez 6th/7th/8th grade

Ms. Lee 6th/7th/8th grade 

Ms. Scott 8th grade 

ESL

Ms. Belal

Special Education

Ms. Anderson

Ms. Bonner

Ms. Hajra

Ms. Rodriguez- Paraprofessional

Mr. Feliz- Paraprofessional

Ms. Medina- Paraprofessional

Custodial Staff

Mr. KayKay

Mr. W. Ruiz

Staff Bios

(In Alphabetical Order)

Allia, Michelle Michelle Allia
Humanities
Email: MAllia@highlandparkschool.orgMs. Allia will be teaching Eighth Grade Humanities at HPCS. Although this is her first year at HPCS, this will be her fourth year teaching middle school. Ms. Allia has a duel degree in Social Studies Education and English. She looks forward to using her background to help her students explore and learn English Language Arts through the history that surrounds us. She loves to read, play sports – especially golf and lacrosse, and visit new places. Ms. Allia is eager to spend this school year learning and growing alongside her students!
Anderson, Katie Katie Anderson
Special Education
Email: KAnderson@highlandparkschool.orgKatie Anderson is a NYS certified Social Studies and Students with Disabilities teacher. She has earned a B.A in History from University of North Texas, M.S in Adolescent Education and M.S in School Building Supervision from Mercy College. Ms. Anderson is an inclusion classroom teacher at Highland Park Community School. In this role Ms. Anderson coordinates with various service providers to create Individual Education Programs. She collaborates with Humanities and Scimatics teachers to differentiate common core materials and assessments. Throughout her 9 years as an educator she has taught a range of classes including AP Geography, Global Regents, US History Regents, Life Skills, middle school Math, Science, Social Studies and Language Arts. She is a dedicated educator who empowers her students and inspires them to become life long learners.
Belal, Tanjila
English as New Language (ENL)
Email: tbelal@highlandparkschool.orgMs. Belal is the ENL teacher at HPCS. This is her second year at the school and second year of teaching! Ms. Belal received her undergraduate education at CUNY Queens College with a Bachelors degree in Education and her graduate education at CUNY Hunter College with a Masters degree in TESOL also known as Teaching English to Speakers of Another Language. Ms. Belal grew up in Brooklyn and currently lives in Queens. She is from Bangladesh but raised in New York City and has been here for 25 years! She is bilingual in Bengali. Ms. Belal loves teaching and enjoys teaching ENL because she is a former ELL and an immigrant who struggled to learn English as a child. She understands the challenges immigrant children face and therefore is passionate about helping them overcome this obstacle and succeed in life. She wants her students to be the best they can be without any limitations. She truly believes in each and every one of her students.
Prokop, Micheal
Bonner, Ifetayo
Special Education
Email: ibonner@highlandparkschool.org
Castellar, Desiree
Humanities
Email: DCastellar@highlandparkschool.orgMrs. Castellar started teaching in 2001 and is honored to be a founding teacher at Highland Park Community School. Desiree Morgan-Castellar grew up in Queens and went to city schools until her college years. Since Middle School, she was an A student in Social Studies and even tutored other students in her class. Throughout her time as a student, she ran for student government several times. She was President of Student Government in Junior High School, on the student council in High School, and the President of Student Association at Queens College. Although her first dream was to become a famous singer, these leadership experiences led her into a career of education. As a teacher she could use her leadership skills in the classroom. Mrs Castellar’ s most important responsibility is raising her own two children into becoming leaders of the future. She equally pushes her own students into becoming model citizens who will change the world for the better. For this reason she always tells her students, “When you become famous, remember to mention my name on TV!”
Conte, Adam
Health and Physical Education
Email: AConte@highlandparkschool.orgMr. Conte is happy to be returning to Highland Park Community School for his third year as our health and physical education instructor. He grew up playing hockey and is a passionate New York Rangers fan. He also enjoyed playing baseball during his youth and is a Yankees fan at heart. Adam graduated at the top of his class when he received his Bachelor’s Degree in Health and Physical Education from Long Island University. He is currently enrolled at Hofstra University where he is in the process of obtaining his Master’s Degree in Special Education, which he’s pursuing because of his desire to work with students who have special needs. This was elicited through his experience in adaptive physical education where he worked with individuals who have Downs Syndrome at the Special Olympics and through his loving relationship with his sister-in-law who has special needs.
Feliz, Leo
Paraprofessional
Email: lfeliz@highlandparkschool.org
Grate, Mackenzie, Assistant Principal
Email: MGrate@highlandparkschool.orgMrs. Grate was born in Indiana and raised in northern California. She loves to read, bike, do yoga and snuggle her two pugs, Toby and Kiwi. She holds both a Bachelor’s and Master’s Degree from New York University in English Education and TESOL and she holds an additional Master’s degree in Educational Leadership from The College of Saint Rose. Mrs. Grate loves to travel and plans to one day retire in Italy.
Henderson, Taniesha,

Parent Coordinator
Email: thenderson@highlandparkschool.org

Heyward, Kyle Heyward, Kyle, Social Worker
Email: kheyward@highlandparkschool.org
Hajra, Shormin Hajra, Shormin
Special Education
Email: shajra@highlandparkschool.org
Huttner, Daniel
Humanities
Email: DHuttner@highlandparkschool.orgDaniel Huttner teaches Humanities and Social Studies. He joins the team at Highland Park Community School having taught ELA in middle school and high school in the Bronx and Queens. He also has a great interest and knowledge base in history. He enjoys playing chess very much and brought this tradition to his last school. Over the summer, Daniel got married and spent his honeymoon in Costa Rica, where he and his wife rescued a kitten from the jungle. They live in Queens with their two dogs, “jungle” cat, and nearly 40 pet lizards.
Johnson, William

Health and Physical Education
Email: wjohnson@highlandparkschool.org

Lafaille, Peterson
Humanities
Email: plafaille@highlandparkschool.org
Medina, Jessica
Paraprofessional
Email: jmedina@highlandparkschool.org
Moncada, Mike
Humanities
Email: mmoncada@highlandparkschool.org     Mr. Moncada is a lifelong resident of Manhattan. He received his BA from Hunter College studying psychology and sociology and an MSed in biology from St, Johns university. In addition to teaching, Mr. Moncada has worked as a university tour guide, a workers union organizer, at an ice skating rink school, and at a biopsychology lab studying fish.
Quarto, Caterina Quarto, Caterina
Italian
Email: cquarto@highlandparkschool.org
Rodriguez, Linbel
Paraprofessional
Email: lrodriguez@highlandparkschool.org
Rivera, Ruben
Email: RRivera@highlandparkschool.org
Samuels, Ulett
Humanities
Email: usamuels@highlandparkschool.org
Scott, Natasha
Scimatics
Email: nscott@highlandparkschool.org
Seifullah, Jamilah, Principal
Email: info@highlandparkschool.org
Vasquez, Romualdo
Community Associate
Email: rvasquez@highlandparkschool.org
Williams, Pamela
School Aide
Email: pwilliams@highlandparkschool.org
White, Lindsey
Scimatics
Email: lwhite@highlandparkschool.org